
2015 - 2016 School Year 

Utah School Registration Immunization Requirements 
Utah State Law requires that all students must submit a completed immunization record to the school BEFORE THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL 

ATTENDANCE. THESE REQUIREMENTS ARE IN EFFECT FOR THE 2015-2016 SCHOOL YEAR IN ALL UTAH PUBLIC AND PRIVATE 

SCHOOLS.  A student must have proof of the following immunizations for school enrollment or submit one of the three exemptions listed below. 
 

Preschool       K-6
th

 Grades                         7
th

---12
th

 Grades  

                          

4 DTP/Dtap/DT 

3 Polio (IPV) 
1 MMR 

• (mumps, measles, rubella) 
3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 
2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 
1 Varicella (chickenpox) 

• History of disease OK, parent must sign 
pink immunization card 

HIB.. 
• doses adequate for age 

Prevnar (Pneumonia)   

• doses adequate for age, including one 
dose of Prevnar 13  

 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/Tdap  
• 4 doses ok if 4th given after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 7th birthday 

4 Polio (IPV) 
• 4th must be given after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 
2 Varicella (chickenpox)  

• history of disease ok – parent must sign pink 
immunization card 

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/DTP 
• 4 doses ok if 4th given after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 7th birthday 

1 Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis) given after age 7 
 

4 Polio (IPV) 
• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 
2 Varicella (Chickenpox) or history of disease 
2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 
1 Meningoccal  (Meningitis)  

 

(1st dose MMR, Varicella and Hepatitis A must be given AFTER 1st birthday to be valid dose) 

EXEMPTIONS  
MEDICAL 

Forms can be signed at a doctor’s office and 
attached to the pink immunization card. 

RELIGIOUS 
Completed waiver form from the local health department ($25 

fee applies) must be signed and attached to the pink 

immunization card. 

PERSONAL 
Completed waiver form from the local health department 
($25 fee applies) must be attached to a parent-signed pink 

immunization card. 

 
Results of a completed TB test (PPD) given in the U.S. within 90 days or results of a chest x-ray taken within the last year must be presented before school attendance begins by all students who have 
moved in from a foreign country (except Canada) or who have been out of the country for 6 months or more.  A TB test given within the last five years is also required for all entering kindergarten 
who were born in a foreign country (except Canada).  If BCG (a TB immunization) was given within the last year, the student must wait one year from the date of the BCG to receive a PPD, but they 
may attend school during that time period until the PPD can be given. 

 
A child may be allowed to attend school “conditionally” if at least one dose of each required immunization series has been completed and the child is 

 currently on schedule to finish the rest.  The remaining immunizations must be completed on schedule for the child to remain in attendance. 


