UTAH COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH

151 SOUTH UNIVERSITY AVENUE

PrROVO, UTAH 84601
MINUTES
November 24, 2014
Members Present:

Name Name

Gaye L. Ray, RN X Teresa Tavares X
Clyde Nielsen, RPh X Mayor Jeff Acerson X
Supt. Keith Rittel excused Diane Lohner X
Dianne C. Carr X Cmsr. Doug Witney, Chair X
Henry M. Yeates, M.D. X

Others present: Dr. Joseph Miner - Utah County Health Department (UCHD) Executive Director
Debbi Solen - UCHD Secretary
Number of people who signed attendance sheet - 47

1. Welcome by Commissioner Witney

2. Approval of the Minutes from the September 22, 2014 meeting.

MOTION: Gaye Ray made the motion to approve the minutes, which was seconded by Jeff Acerson
and passed by unanimous vote.

3. Provo School District Nutrition Policy Recognition

The Board of Health would like to recognize the Provo School District Child Nutrition Program that has
been awarded Best in State for the last 5 years. Jenilee McComb, Child Nutrition Program Manager, says
her lunchroom staff make food attractive for the students which means the students are more willing to try
different foods. They have put an emphasis on serving more fruits and vegetables and only serve dessert
twice a month. They do not offer a la carte. The students really enjoy the food and there is very little food
that is thrown away. Check out their Facebook page to view some of the creations, all done with limited
funding and lots of imagination. A video from Good Things Utah (KSL) was also shown.
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4. Public Hearing of Proposed E-cigarette Regulation

Commissioner Witney opened the Public Hearing,.

The purpose of the E-cigarette Regulation is to protect public health and eliminate under-age youth usage.
Linnea Fletcher, Tobacco Program Manager from Utah County Health Department, explained that the
national average of E-cigaretie youth usage is 4.5% but the usage in Utah is 5.9%. Across the nation the
percentage of High School students who have used EE-cigarettes has tripled since 2011. The number of E-
cigarette device and liguid nicotine poison control calls have increased significantly from 271 calls in 2011
t0 3,353 through Oct 31, 2014.

The Board has received and read much material regarding this regulation including comments submitted by
email from the public. Some members of the Board and County employees have met with the vape shop
owners and other retailers regarding this regulation and have considered their input as well. Some recent
changes to the regulation: added a 90 day grace period for the retailers to be in compliance of the regulation
and the definition of a minor is 19 years old and younger following State law.

Electronic Smoking Device (ESD) has been changed to use the CDC definition Electronic Nicotine Delivery
Systems (ENDS). Theregulation applies to E-cigarettes, ENDS, ENDS paraphernalia and E-liquid sampled,
sold or offered for sale, and/or manufactured in Utah County.

A quarterly compliance check was conducted where undercover minors try to purchase E-cigarette products
and none of the vape shops sold to the youth, However, other retailers such as grocery and convenience
stores sold to minors. Youth can also purchase products from someone who makes the product in their
bathtub. There are no standards for manufacturing the E-liquid.

Nicotine has been found in samples when the label claims there is none. Youth are becoming addicted to
nicotine and the Dept. Of Drug & Alcohol Prevention & Treatment (aDDAPT) says they are finding many
more youth addicted to nicotine and that the E-cigarette can be used for other drugs.

There are different standards across Utah. Currently 10 of the 12 Utah health districts are working on an
E-cigarette regulation. In February 2014, Davis County passed a regulation and Weber-Morgan passed one
last month. Standard ingredients, manufacturing and sale of E-cigarettes do not fall under the tobacco
products legislature, but E-cigarettes do fall under the Utah Clean Air Act. Tobacco products legislation
does address zoning laws which dictate where the vape shops can be located and access to minors, but the
E-liquid is not regulated at any level.

In April 2014 a study was conducted on 2" hand vapor. Research is limited as there haven’t been many
studies; however, preliminary studies show some carcinogens go into the air but it isn’t as toxic as smoke.
A new study from France says E-cigarettes actually pose health risks similar to those of actual cigarettes.
E-cigarettes contain about the same amount of formaldehyde and other carcinogens as regular cigarettes and
because it is a vapor can be inhaled deeper into the lungs. There is no proof that E-cigarettes help you stop
smoking.

The regulation will protect businesses that comply. The regulation will address what chemicals and the
amount of chemicals are in the E-liquid, the address of the manufacturer, and labeling.
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Public Comments:

AARON FRAZIER: Executive Director, Utah Smoke Free Association:

The Utah Smoke Free Association is a non-profit association and works with the vape shops and the E-liquid
manufacturers in the state of Utah and they support the regulation. As a statewide association they became
self-regulated about 2 years ago and members follow a strict set of standards. They feel regulations are
necessary for the manufacturing and retail sales of consumer products. Not everyone who manufactures or
sells ENDS and their products is a member of the association. The association represents about 75% of the
retailers and manufacturers in Utah. The association has an agreement with a scanning company to provide
scanners for their association retailers to electronically scan 1Ds to verify age. They would like to see this
as a requirement for all retatlers of an age-restricted product.

When asked how to monitor the individual who makes E-liquid in the home, Aaron said it is the same kind
of problem the food industry has. Requiring manufacturers to get a business license, County permit and
proof of insurance that shows their product is insured all the way to consumption is a good way to monitor
a manufacturer. Any retailer should be required to see these 3 things before purchasing any product.
Distributors often get their product from overseas which have no standards.

Watching social media for manufacturers who are not complying is another way to monitor manufacturing
of E-liquid. The regulation would not effect the individual who makes his own product for his own use and
shares it with his friends, but if he were to sell 1t to his friends then the regulation would apply to him.

HALLE ACOR: Outrage, an Anti-Tobacco Youth Group

They would like to see this regulation approved. She is a high school student and knows of many youth
who use LE-cigarettes because they think it is harmless and cool. Most youth are not aware it contains
nicotine or any other chemical or that they are addictive. Using E-cigarettes is fun, they try to make different
shapes with the vapor and it helps alleviate some depression. It’s very easy to buy ENDS and paraphernalia
on-fine, all you have to do is check a box that you are over 18 years old.

KRISTI STRONGO: Parent

She supports this regulation. We have the FDA regulations that require labeling on products that are
manufactured and consumed and there are standards that are enforced to assure that our products are safe.
She believes the public wants regulation to protect our children and other consumers. Labeling is very
important. She would also like to see marketing regulated, to remove E-cigarette advertizing much like we
did with tobacco products. Most of the advertising is geared toward the youth. It is very troubling to see
the usage rates almost triple in 2 years time. We already have too many youth addicted to nicotine. There
may not be any long term studies showing the harm that can come using E-cigarettes but we do know about
similar products and the damage they cause.

SCOTT BARTON, MD: OB, Utah Tobacco-I'ree Alliance, Chairman

A recent CDC study shows a very large proportion of E-cigarette users go on to use tobacco and current
tobacco users also use E-cigarettes. They are not a device to help you stop smoking. History is repeating
itself. Back in the 50's and 60's advertisers were telling us how fun, sexy and safe tobacco was, It is the
same today with the E-cigarettes. We are told E-cigarettes are only water vapor which is clearly not true.
There are 6-8 carcinogens in the vapor, formaldehyde, acrolein, propylene glycol and other chemicals which
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are well distributed to the lungs and absorbed more quickly than the larger particulate of regular cigarettes.
Self-regulation is not effective. They support this E-cigarette Regulation.

In the State Legislature earlier this year they almost passed a state regulation. They were short by 4 votes.
They will be trying again in January 2015. The tobacco industry lobbyists will be there too.

Weber-Morgan E-cigaretie youth usage rate rose 500% in just 2 years time. He has seen in his practice
pregnant moms who use tobacco and when monitoring the baby there is a flat line until the nicotine wears
off. He also sees asthma and other ailments from smoking and with second hand smoke.

ALEXIS CONDILE: Outrage, an Anti-Tobacco Youth Group

She knows smokers who also use E-cigarettes. They started by using E-~cigarettes and are now trying to go
back to just using Li-cigarettes but can’t. She knows of others who are now using other drugs as well. They
are addicted. Her family uses E-cigarettes because they believe it is just water vapor. When she tried an E-
cigarette she had a very bad asthma attack. She lives with second-hand smoke and has never had an attack
that bad.

She believes this regulation should be passed. Perhaps if we had a regulation like this a few years ago many
people would not be addicted today.

JANAE DUNCAN: Utah Department of Health, Tobacco Prevention and Control Program

They are in support of this regulation. Utah was seeing great declines in tobacco usage and now they are
increasing again as youth are becoming addicted to nicotine. Data shows that there is dual usage of -
cigarettes and tobacco. If can be argued that E-cigarettes is the less harmful product, but there is still harm
and they are continuing their nicotine dependance and using tobacco. Studies show that even one tobacco
cigarette a day maintains the damage to your body.

ENDS is not water vapor; it is an acrosol and contains nicotine and can contain additional toxins, Because
there are no manufacturing standards there is no way to ensure what the toxicants are. There is no study on
the effects of inhaling the flavors. Because there is no regulation ENDS can be sold anywhere, such as a
clothing or toy store. There are state laws that say you can’t sell to minors but there are no lcensing laws
so it is difficult to know who 1s selling these products and it makes it even more difficult to enforce.

[t 1s important that the local health departments are developing regulations. This shows the state legislature
just how important this issue is to the public and that there is a need for a consistent state regulation. It is
important for the local government to take control and not wait for the state or FDA to come up with a
regulation. OUTRAGE met with some of the legislators just last week to discuss this issue.

We know that nicotine is addictive and impacts the developing brain. There is no good reason for youth to
be using these products. The vapor contains dangerous toxins. There 18 propylene glycol in E-cigarettes and
it is an oily substance. There is some research that shows there are higher levels of nicotine in the exhale
than with regular cigarettes so you may not be exposed to second-hand smoke but to the nicotine.
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RAVEN ALBERTSON: Utah County Tobacco Prevention Program employee

[n 2009 her father who had never smoked started using E-cigarettes to try to quit a smoking habit that he had
just started. It’s been 5 years and it has not helped him to stop smoking, his usage has greatly increased.
Nicotine is very addictive. She works with youth who are in the same situation and it’s a very painful thing
1o watch a loved one struggling with an addiction. Addiction can happen at any age and the younger you
start using E-cigarettes the harder it will be to break the habit. She supports this regulation.

ANDREA URBAN: Parent

She is a mother of 6 children. She actually didn’t intend to attend this meeting. She was in the building
because her son is attending the last of 4 END (Eliminate Nicotine Dependance) classes. Heis a high school
student and was caught using an E-cigarette at school. He was suspended from school and has to attend
these classes. She is grateful to the Nebo School District that they have these kind of consequences.

He has been using regular cigarettes as well and she was not aware of it. She sometimes would smell the
flavors but didn’t think anything of it. Her son says he feels less depressed using E-cigarettes. Tomorrow
they will be meeting with a judge at a tobacco referral. Nicotine addiction ruins lives. She works asan EMT
and sees people with COPD, emphysema and the end results of tobacco and chemical addiction. She
understands people chose to start using these products and chose the consequences as well, but it sure 1s an
ugly thing to see and it was so preventable. She wants to thank the Utah County Health Department for
providing classes and other helps for parents. She wants to thank the Board for working on this issue in
trying to prevent this kind of tragedy in the lives of our youth and their families.

MOTION:  Diane Lohner made the motion to close the public hearing which was seconded by Gaye Ray
and passed by unanimous vote.

5. Consider adopting the e-Cigarette Regulation

Adopting this regulation will not prohibit the Board from being stricter in the future. To make changes to
the regulation you would have to follow the same process, open i up for discussion at a public hearing and
adopt the changes.

Paul Jones, Utah County attorney, explained the legal standard for adopting this regulation because E-
cigarettes are regulated to some extent in Utah by state statute. It would probably be wise to make a
comment about the inadequacy of the current state statute regulation as far as regulating E-cigarettes to
provide the type of safeguards to promote public health and to the extent the state statute may include the
manufacture or sale of the E-juice that it is inadequate or does not even regulate the E-juice or the sale of
the E-juice should all be included for the Board’s consideration.

MOTION: Gaye Ray made the motion to accept the regulation for Retail Sales of E-cigarettes,
Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems, Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems Paraphernalia
of E-liquid, and the Manufacturing of E-liquid on the basis that the state statute is inadequate
in providing the safeguards for public health which was seconded by Teresa Tavares and
passed by unanimous vote.
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6. OUTRAGE National Campaign

Last week anumber of the Board members attended the OUTRAGE Legislative Dinner to discuss upcoming
Utah tobacco legislation. OUTRAGE members have been participating in a national campaign called
TRUTH. Across the nation youth tobacco use in 2000 was at 23% and in 2014 it is now at 7%. Their goal
is to be at 0%.

The youth have been challenged to change their profile picture on public media to be an orange X. This
symbol means smoke/tobacco free. There were two participants from Utah County that accepted this
challenge and were able to get more pledges than most, earning a pair of Vans shoes cach. They have
presented this challenge to ASAP, an anti-tobacco group at Springville High School, and they in turn
challenged the sports teams, who have challenged other various youth groups to be smoke free and to change
their profile picture on social media. It is the hope that the challenge will continue to spread and that this
generation’s tobacco use will be at zero percent.

7. Utah County Clean Air Task Force Update

Steve Alder, Utah County Vehicle Emissions Program, is working on a proposal to be presented to the
commissioners to limit idling to 30 seconds during the bad inversion days. They want to encourage
everyone to park their vehicle and walk into the store, They want the sheriff and police to issue educational
reminders to anyone who idles more than 2 minutes. There are benefits to parking and walking in, not only
cleaner air but some physical exercise and it’s usually faster.

The school flag program is going well. This alerts everyone of the air quality. They would like to post these
colored flags on our County flag pole too. On the red and orange alert days there are 6 things to do to
improve our air quality; consolidate vehicle trips and reduce total driving, park and walk instead of using
drive-up windows, do not let your car idle more than 30 seconds, even on cold mornings, ride a bike, car-
pool or use public transportation, keep your sidewalks clear so others are able to walk easily, and never burn
wood or coal, indoors or out. The commissioners are looking into taking out a stall in each parking garage
for bike parking. Commissioner Witney suggested using the County’s electronic newsletter and other social
media to spread the word about our air quality. There are walking buses where kids walk with a parent as
a group. The biggest benefit will be the education of the public and over time hopefully we’ll begin to see
an improvement in our air quality.

8. Public Health Emergency Response Plan for Ebola Virus Cases

The state has had several possible exposure cases of Ebola that they have followed. The local health
departments have a weekly conference phone call with the state health department planning what should be
done if we should see more cases. Dr. Miner has met with the Intermountain Health Care (IHC) hospitals
as to what IHC’s response should be if they get an Ebola case. The plan for the IHC hospitals is to transport
all suspected cases to the Intermountain Medical Center in Murray, Salt Lake County, UT. They are training
personnel as to what should be done before the patient is transported, mainly better screening and isolation,
to limit exposure to others.
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9. Board Member Feedback from Constituents

There is a person in the [CU that broke her back at a trampoline gym and it looks like she may be paralyzed.
This is a recent injury so we were unaware of it. Dr. Yeates will find out more information regarding this
incident.

We have created forms for the gyms and hospitals to use when reporting the injuries to us. We’ve not
received any reports from Jump On It, but there may not be any data to report. We are getting very good data
from UVRMC. Wehave given Timpanogos and Mountain View hospitals the newly created forms and they
are willing to report injuries as well. It appears that so far the injury rate has gone down perhaps because
of the attention from the media.

10. New Employees

Board members were referred to the list of employee changes.

11. Other Business:

Lance Madigan, P10, will get the Board members on the email list for the County’s electronic newsletter.
At the January meeting we will elect a new Board Chair as Doug Witney will no longer be a commissioner.

Our next meeting will be January 26, 20135.

MOTION:  Gaye Ray made the motion to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Diane Lohner
and passed by unanimous vote.

Meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.
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Jd§eph. Miner, M.D. / /
Executive Director Chair
Utah County Health Department Utah County Board of Health
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